Frontiers for Young Minds

Frontiers for Young Minds
القائمة

المؤلفون

Frontiers for Young Minds تلتزم بتقديم مقالات علمية متطورة وعالية الجودة بلغة بسيطة وسهلة، ويحظى الباحثون بفرصة إعادة طرح أحدث الأبحاث والمؤلفات الخاصة بهم بلغة يمكن أن يفهمها القراء الصغار. ينبغي على المؤلفين أخذ ملاحظات المراجعين الصغار في الاعتبار وتطبيقها.

يُرجى العلم أن شعار Frontiers for Young Minds منذ البداية هو وضع الأطفال والمراهقين في دور المراجعين أثناء عملية مراجعة الأقران، وتمكينهم من طرح أسئلة نقدية وتقديم ملاحظات بناءة إلى المؤلفين. لهذا السبب، لا تقبل المجلة إدراج أطفال أو مراهقين باعتبارهم مؤلفين مشاركين، وبدلًا من ذلك، فإن لهم مطلق الحرية لتقديم ملاحظات وتعليقات للمؤلفين أثناء مراحل الصياغة والإعداد أو يتم إدراجهم باعتبارهم مراجعين صغار.

في حال وجود أسئلة متعلقة بتقديم الأبحاث أو المعايير المطلوب من المؤلف استيفائها، الرّجاء التواصل معنا عبر kids.arabic@frontiersin.org

هل تريد النشر معنا؟

للباحثين الذين يريدون تقديم نسخ Frontiers for Young Minds من أعمالهم، الرّجاء الرجوع إلى إرشادات المؤلف أدناه والتحقق من توافر جميع الشروط لديك قبل التقديم.

إرشادات التقديم

المواضيع

نتلقى الآن طلبات تقديم في المجالات التالية:

  • الفلك وعلم الفضاء
  • التنوع الحيوي
  • الصحة
  • الرياضيات
  • علم الأعصاب وعلم النفس
  • الأرض ومواردها

كيف تختار نوع مقالتك؟

تقدم Frontiers for Young Minds نوعين مختلفين من المصادر إلى الجمهور العام: أهم النقاط الأساسية للاكتشافات العلمية الجديدة وملخصات عامة لتقديم معلومات عامة وأساسية حول مجال معين. يمكن للمؤلفين اقتراح العمر المناسب لجمهور مقالاتهم: 8-11 أو 12-15.

يتم تحرير نسخ من المقالات، ويُخصص لها مُعرف وثيقة رقمي (DOI) وتُنشر بصيغة PDF وHTML. لا يدفع المؤلفون رسومًا لنشر مقال لدى Young Minds.

الاكتشافات الجديدة

تتناول مقالات الاكتشافات الجديدة اكتشافًا أو تقنية أو نتائج حديثة، وتشرح محتواها وأهميتها بلغة يفهمها الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين (8-15 عامًا). من المهم أن يقدم المؤلفون شرحًا وسياقًا كافيًا للاكتشافات، لكن يجب أن ينصب التركيز بشكل أكبر على التطورات والنتائج الحديثة.

يجب أن تستند المقالات إلى مقالات بحثية خضعت إلى عملية مراجعة الأقران ونُشرت (أو قُبلت) في مجلة أكاديمية كما يجب أن تُكتب على يد باحثين مشاركين في المنشور الأصلي. يجب التعامل مع المقال على أنه 'اقتباس' من المقال البحثي الأصلي.

سيتم عرض المقال الأصلي بوضوح في أعلى المقال على شكل لافتة بها رابط يعيد توجيهك إليه. الرّجاء الإشارة إلى هذا المقال في المراجع الخاصة بك باعتباره مصدر المقال الأصلي مع التأكد من تزويدنا بمُعرف الوثيقة الرقمي.

المفاهيم الأساسية

تشرح المقالات التي تتناول المفاهيم الأساسية أفكارًا ومفاهيم من مجال معين مع صياغتها بلغة يفهمها الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين (8-15 عامًا)، ويجب أن يكون لكل مقال نطاق واضح ومحدد مع عدم محاولة تناول المجال بشكل عام. علاوةً على ذلك، يجب أن يكون المقال مستقلًا بذاته ويشرح مصطلحات أساسية داخل النص ويحدد بوضوح المجالات التي يمكن أن يهتم بها الجمهور بشكل يحثه على اكتشاف المزيد.

المجال العام: "علوم الأرض"، "القلب"، " الطاقة المتجددة"، أو "المخ".

النطاق الواضح والمحدد: "أنواع حدود الصفائح التكتونية"، "لماذا يدق قلبك؟"، "كيف تولد توربينات الهواء الطاقة؟" أو  "لماذا يحتاج مخك إلى النوم؟"

يجب أن يتمتع مؤلفو مقالات المفاهيم الأساسية بالخبرة الراسخة في المجال، بما يشمل سجل نشر ذا صلة. كما يجب أن يكون المؤلف أو مساعد المؤلف في المقالات التي تتناول المفاهيم الأساسية  أحد كبار الخبراء في المجال الذي تجري مناقشته (بمعنى أن يكون أستاذًا أو أستاذًا مساعدًا أو ما يعادل ذلك).

كيف تسجل معنا؟

يجب على جميع المؤلفين الذين يرغبون في إرسال أبحاثهم والمتقدمين التسجيل في Frontiers قبل تقديم المقالات. ثم يجب عليك تسجيل الدخول إلى حسابك الشخصي في Frontiers لتقديم الورقة البحثية.

بالنسبة لأي مؤلف مشارك يرغب في ربط اسمه المذكور في صفحة ملخص المقال وملف الـ PDF بحساب Frontiers على Loop Network، الرّجاء التأكد من التسجيل قبل نشر الورقة البحثية بشكل نهائي.

كيف تكتب مقالًا علميًا موجهًا للأطفال؟

يقدم هذا الدليل نقطة انطلاق عن كيفية تطويع بحثك لكي يناسب القراء الصغار – بما في ذلك الإشارة إلى العديد من التوصيات من مراجعينا الصغار من واقع مراجعات مقالات Frontiers for Young Minds(FYM) سابقة.

ما يجب أن تشمله ورقتك البحثية؟

حجم الورقة البحثية

يبلغ الحد الأقصى لعدد كلمات المقال 1500 كلمة ولا يجب أن يحتوي المقال على أكثر من ثلاثة أشكال وخمسة مراجع تقريبًا .

لا يشمل هذا الجزء إلا مضمون النص وجميع الاقتباسات الموجودة به، ولا يشمل الملخص أو الخلاصة، وعناوين الأقسام، والأشكال والعناوين الفرعية للجداول، والمراجع الموجودة في نهاية الورقة البحثية. الرّجاء ذِكر عدد الكلمات وعدد الأشكال الموجودة في ورقتك البحثية في الصفحة الأولى.

إرفاق سيرة ذاتية قصيرة وصورة لكل مؤلف

يبلغ الحد الأقصى لعدد كلمات السيرة الذاتية القصيرة 100 كلمة. الرّجاء إرفاق السيرة الذاتية والصورة الخاصة بكل مؤلف في نهاية الورقة البحثية.

العناوين الرئيسية والفرعية

يجب أن يكون العنوان دقيقًا وموجزًا قدر الإمكان، مع تجنب الاختصارات.

المؤلفون والجهات التي يتبعونها

تُدرج جميع الأسماء معًا وتفصل بينها باستخدام فاصلة. يجب التأكد من صحة أسماء المؤلفين لأنها ستُدرج في الملفات والسجلات الرسمية. مع العلم أنه في حال تقديم طلبات لإجراء أي تغيير بعد النشر، سيترتب على ذلك تكاليف إضافية يتحملها المؤلف وحده. يجب ربط أسماء الجهات بأسماء المؤلفين من خلال خاصية الأرقام العلوية وإدراج اسم الجهة كالتالي: المختبر، والمعهد، والقسم، والمؤسسة، والمدينة، واختصار اسم الولاية، والدولة (بدون معلومات تفصيلية عن العنوان، مثل الرمز البريدي للمدينة أو أسماء الشوارع).

إذا تغير عنوان أحد المؤلفين، فيرجى كتابة العنوان الجديد أسفل بيانات المراسلة باستخدام رمز علوي مع استخدام نفس الرمز للإشارة إلى المؤلف في قائمة المؤلفين.

مقال المصدر الأصلي - (لمقالات الاكتشافات الجديدة فقط)

يجب أن يكون لمقالات الاكتشافات الجديدة مقال مصدر أصلي، وسيُعرض بوضوح في أعلى المقال. الرّجاء الإشارة إلى هذا المقال في المراجع الخاصة بك باعتباره مصدر المقال الأصلي مع التأكد من تزويدنا بمُعرف الوثيقة الرقمي.

الملخص

تُعرض الملخصات في الصفحة الرئيسية لموقع Young Minds الإلكتروني، وعليه يجب أن يحدد الملخص الخاص بك موضوع المقال بدقة وبساطة حتى يصل إلى الأطفال، أو أولياء الأمور، أو المُعلمين الذين يتصفحون الموقع.

كما يجب أن يقدم الملخص صورة واضحة لسياق المفهوم أو الاكتشاف وأهميته بطريقة بسيطة تصل إلى القراء الصغار. يجب التقليل من استخدام الاختصارات مع عدم الاستشهاد بالمراجع. بالإضافة إلي ذلك، يجب ألا يزيد عدد كلمات الملخص عن 150 كلمة.

الكلمات الدلالية/المفتاحية

يستخدم أولياء الأمور والمعلمون الكلمات الدلالية/المفتاحية للبحث عن المقالات على الموقع الإلكتروني، لذا يجب أن تكون ذات صلة، وبسيطة وخالية من المصطلحات المتخصصة.

النص

يُكتب النص الأساسي باستخدام خط Times New Roman طبيعي بحجم 12، ويجب كتابة المقال بالكامل بمسافة واحدة بين السطور وباستخدام برنامج LaTeX أو MS-Word.

مسرد المصطلحات

عند استخدام مصطلحات تقنية داخل النص، يُرجى وضع عمر القرّاء المستهدفين في الاعتبار، وهذا يعني ضرورة توضيح أي مفردات مُعقدة أو متخصصة قدر الإمكان في سياق المقال نفسه. إذا كنت تشعر أن هناك بعض المصطلحات تحتاج شرح إضافي، فيمكن إضافتها في قسم المسرد المختصر (لا يزيد عن خمسة مصطلحات، ولا يزيد كل شرح عن 30 كلمة).

لا يجب استخدام الاختصارات إلا في أضيق الحدود حيث يجب تجنب استخدام الاختصارات غير التقليدية ما لم تَرِد أربع مرات على الأقل، مع توضيحها وشرحها مع أول استخدام في النص. كما يجب أيضًا وضع قائمة بالاختصارات غير التقليدية في نهاية المقال، قبل الإقرار مباشرةً. بالنسبة للمعادلات، يجب كتابتها بصيغة قابلة للتحرير باستخدام محرر المعادلات، وبالنسبة لرموز الجينات، فيجب كتابتها بخط مائل، باستثناء منتجات البروتين. يجب الإشارة إلى المركبات الكيميائية والجزيئات الحيوية باستخدام مصطلحات منهجية، ويُفضل استخدام توصيات IUPAC، وننصح باستخدام نظام الوحدات الدولي في الأوراق البحثية.

المراجع

يجب أن تُدرج جميع الاقتباسات الموجودة في النص، والأشكال، والجداول في قائمة المراجع والعكس صحيح. لا يجب أن تشمل المراجع إلا مقالات منشورة أو مقبولة، وبالنسبة للأعمال المقبولة والتي لم تُنشر بعد، يُرجى استخدام لفظ "قيد الطباعة" بدلًا من الإشارة إلى أرقام الصفحات. علاوةً على ذلك، يجب وضع عناوين URL للمواقع الإلكترونية كحاشية سفلية، ووضع أي اقتباس لنص حرفي بين علامتيّ تنصيص مع الإشارة إلى المصدر الأصلي بوضوح. يجب استخدام طريقة فانكوفر في وضع الاقتباسات داخل النص.

قائمة المراجع: اذكر أسماء أول ستة مؤلفين يليهم لفظ "والزملاء" (et al) ومُعرف الوثيقة الرقمي إذا كان متاحًا.

يجب ترقيم الاقتباسات داخل النص بالترتيب حسب الظهور في النص – وتُحدد بالأرقام العربية بين قوسين.

للاطلاع على أمثلة فيما يتعلق بالاقتباس من مستندات أخرى والأسئلة العامة الخاصة بأسلوب المراجع، الرّجاء الرجوع إلى دليل أسلوب المكتبة الوطنية للطب.

Frontiers for Young Minds

Frontiers for Young Minds
Menu

Authors

Frontiers for Young Minds is committed to providing high-quality, plain-language articles about cutting-edge science. Researchers have a chance to reframe their own recent research and publications into language that can be understood by a younger audience. Authors need to respond to and integrate the feedback provided by their Young Reviewers.

For questions on submitting, please contact kids@frontiersin.org

Would you like to publish with us?

For researchers who would like to submit a Frontiers for Young Minds version of their work, please consult our author guidelines below and check that you have all the essentials included before submitting.

Guidelines for submission

Subject Areas

We are currently accepting submissions in the following subject areas:

  • Astronomy and Space Science
  • Biodiversity
  • Health
  • Mathematics
  • Neuroscience
  • Earth and its Resources

How to choose your article type?

Frontiers for Young Minds was developed to provide two distinct types of resources to general audiences: focused highlights of new scientific findings and broader summaries to provide context and foundational knowledge about a given field. Authors can recommend the ideal age of the audience for their article: 8-12 or 13-15.

New discoveries

New Discovery articles take a recent finding, technology, or discovery and explain the content and importance of the discovery in language that can be understood by kids (ages 8-15). It is important that the authors provide enough context for the discovery, but should focus more on the recent development.

These articles should be based on an academic article that has been peer-reviewed and published (or accepted) in an academic journal and should be written by researchers involved in the original publication.

The original publication will be featured prominently at the top of the article in the form of a banner hyperlinked back to it. Please indicate this article within your references as the source article and ensure that we are provided with a DOI.

Core concepts

Core Concept articles explain fundamental ideas from a given field and synthesize them in language that can be understood by kids (ages 8-15). Each article should have a clear scope and not attempt to address an entire discipline. The article should be primarily self-contained, explaining major terms within the text and clearly identifying areas where people could be interested to find out more.

Too broad: "Earth Science", "The Heart", "Renewable Energy", or "The Brain"

Clear scope: "Types of plate margins", "Why do you have a heart beat?", "How do wind turbines create energy?" or "Why does your brain need sleep?"

The authors of Core Concept articles should have an established expertise in the field, including a relevant publication record (see Cover Letter section, below).

Articles are copy-edited, receive a DOI and are published in PDF and HTML format. Authors are not required to pay a fee to publish a Young Minds Article.

How to register?

Corresponding and all submitting authors MUST register with Frontiers before submitting an article. You must be logged in to your personal Frontiers Account to submit a manuscript.

For any co-author who would like his/her name on the article abstract page and PDF to be linked to a Frontiers profile on the Loop Network, please ensure to register before the final publication of the paper.

How to write a Young Minds article?

This guide provides a starting point for how to adapt your research for a younger audience – including many recommendations from our Young Reviewers during past FYM reviews.

What to include in your manuscript?

Manuscript lengths

Articles have a maximum word count of 1,500 and should include no more than 3 figures and approximately 5 references.

The manuscript length includes only the main body of the text and all citations within it, and excludes abstract, section titles, figure and table captions, and references at the bottom of the manuscript. Please indicate the number of words and the number of figures included in your manuscript on the first page.

An author biography and photo for each author

This short biography has a maximum of 100 words. Please include both the biography and the photo of each author at the end of the manuscript.

Language Style

We have a guide on how to adjust your language and writing style for a younger audience. Click here to download. Authors are requested to follow American English spelling.

Title and headings

The title should be as concise as possible, and abbreviations should be avoided.

Authors and Affiliations

All names are listed together and separated by commas. Provide exact and correct author names as these will be indexed in official archives. Any change requests after publication will incur additional costs and will be solely at the author’s charge. Affiliations should be keyed to the author’s name with superscript numbers and be listed as follows: Laboratory, Institute, Department, Organization, City, State abbreviation, and Country (without detailed address information such as city zip codes or street names).

If one of the authors has a change of address, list the new address below the correspondence details using a superscript symbol and use the same symbol to indicate the author in the author list.

Source Article - (only for New Discoveries articles)

New Discovery articles should have an original research source article. This will be featured prominently at the top of the article. Please indicate this article within your references as the source article and ensure that we are provided with a DOI.

Abstract

Abstracts are visible on the home page of the Young Minds website, and your abstract should clearly and simply define what your article is about for any kids, parents or teachers browsing the site.

The abstract should clearly present the context and general significance of the concept or advance in a way that is accessible to a young readership. Minimize the use of abbreviations and do not cite references. The abstract should be no longer than 150 words.

Keywords

Kids, parents and teachers use keywords to search for articles on the website. They should be relevant, simple and jargon-free.

Text

The body text is in 12 point normal Times New Roman. The entire document should be single-spaced and written using either LaTeX or MS-Word.

Glossary

When using any technical terms within the text, keep in mind the age of your intended readership. As much as possible, any complex or field-specific vocabulary should be made clear within the context of the article itself. If there are a few terms that you feel would benefit from additional explanation, they can be included in a brief glossary section (no more than 5 terms, no more than 30 words per explanation).

The use of abbreviations should be kept to a minimum. Non-standard abbreviations should be avoided unless they appear at least four times, and defined upon first use in the main text. Consider also giving a list of non-standard abbreviations at the end, immediately before the Acknowledgments. Equations should be inserted in editable format from the equation editor. Gene symbols should be italicized; protein products are not italicized. Chemical compounds and biomolecules should be referred to using systematic nomenclature, preferably using the recommendations by IUPAC. We encourage the use of Standard International Units in all manuscripts.

References

All citations in the text, figures or tables must be in the reference list and vice-versa. The references should only include articles that are published or accepted. For accepted but unpublished works use "in press" instead of page numbers. Website URLs should be included as footnotes. Any inclusion of verbatim text must be contained in quotation marks and clearly reference the original source. Articles should use the Vancouver system for in-text citations.

Reference list: provide the names of the first six authors followed by et al and DOI when available.

In-text citations should be numbered consecutively in order of appearance in the text – identified by Arabic numerals in parentheses.

For examples of citing other documents and general questions regarding reference style, please refer to Citing Medicine.

Download Frontiers Health Endnote Style

Download Frontiers Health and Physics Bibstyle

Cover Letter

In your cover letter please indicate the title of the manuscript, the article type (Core Concept or New Discovery), the intended age range of your readers (8-9, 10-11, 12-13, 13-15), and whether it is part of a Frontiers for Young Minds Collection.

Please introduce yourself to the Chief Editor in your cover letter. It is important that all authors of Frontier for Young Minds articles have an established scientific expertise and publication record, or that they work closely with a senior researcher who does. Please describe your field of expertise and include a link to your professional profile in this letter.

Figure and Table Guidelines

No more than 3 figures are allowed and figure legends should be a maximum of 100 words.

Permissions need to be obtained for re-published/adapted/modified/partial figures, and it is the responsibility of the authors to acquire the licenses, to follow any citation instructions requested by third-party rights holders, and cover any supplementary charges.